Press "Enter" to skip to content

WhatsApp may let you block your ‘final seen’ status contact by contact

WhatsApp has come below fireplace of late for its privateness insurance policies, however an upcoming replace will truly give you a bit extra management over your privateness settings, in accordance with WaBetaInfo.com.

Several years again, WhatsApp launched new privateness settings that let you change who might see your Profile Picture, About and Last Seen settings. Each of these could possibly be set to permit Everyone, My Contacts or Nobody to see them — not precisely an awesome degree of management. In a brand new preview, nonetheless, WhatsApp launched a brand new parameter for “Last Seen” referred to as “My Contacts Except…”, permitting you to block particular contacts if you don’t desire them to see your Last Seen status. 

WaBetaInfo

WaBetaInfo has a screenshot taken from iOS as proof, thought it notes that the brand new characteristic ought to ultimately seem on each iOS and Android. The parameters will even apply to the Profile Picture and About settings. According to the screenshot, if you block somebody’s Last Seen setting, you will not have the ability to see their Last Seen setting in return. 

The web site notes that the characteristic remains to be below improvement, so it may both seem in a future launch or be shelved, offered the publish is correct within the first place. It looks like a fairly logical setting, although, that in all probability ought to have been in there already. 

All merchandise beneficial by Engadget are chosen by our editorial staff, impartial of our father or mother company. Some of our tales embody affiliate hyperlinks. If you purchase one thing by way of certainly one of these hyperlinks, we may earn an affiliate fee.