National Merit Scholarship Awards 2021 Corporate-Sponsored High School Winners in LA County – Daily News

A high school senior graduated cap message. (Photo by Michael Kitada, Photographer Contribution)

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced on April 21 the names of high school students in Los Angeles County who are recipients of corporate-sponsored scholarships in 2021.

Corporate sponsored awards are funded by approximately 140 corporations, company foundations and other business organizations. NMSC estimates that around a thousand senior citizens across the country have won this year’s Corporate Awards.

Nationwide, approximately 7,500 high school students are competing for a scholarship share of approximately $ 30 million in the three tiers of the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Award.

Corporate-sponsored merit scholarships are mostly renewable for up to four years of college graduate study and offer annual stipends that range from $ 1,000 to $ 10,000 per year. Some offer single payments between $ 2,500 and $ 5,000. Recipients can use the award at any recognized college or university of their choice.

Corporate sponsors provide scholarships to finalists who are the children of their employees, residents of the communities in which the company serves or students who plan to pursue college majors who want to encourage sponsors.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce on May 12 the recipients of the $ 2,500 scholarship.

College sponsored scholarship winners will be announced on June 2 and July 12.

The competition process began when high school juniors, 11th graders from around 21,000 high schools in the United States entered the academic competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT / National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The highest-scoring students in each state represent a pool of semifinalists who, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, represent less than 1% of United States high school seniors.

To become the final step for a semifinalist the next step is to complete the required application which includes their SAT or ACT score, an essay and a letter of recommendation by a high school official.

The finalists are then selected based on their academic record, their participation in community and school activities to see how they have achieved leadership potential, employment, awards, and honors.

From a group of about 17,000 semifinalists identified in September 2020, advanced to about 16,000 finalists. Students were informed in February if they were finalists and half of them won scholarships.

National Merit Scholarship winners are selected on the basis of achievements, skills and potential for college success.

High school students wishing to apply in future years are required to speak with their school counselor to arrange to take the PSAT / NMSQT test. Registration is through high school and not by students. For competition information,

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation was established in 1955 and is an independent, not-for-profit group that does not operate with government support. Since its inception, it has awarded 432,000 scholarships totaling over $ 1.7 billion.

The organization’s goals are to reward academically dedicated students, encourage academic excellence at all levels of education, foster a profound respect for learning in general, and encourage individuals and organizations to sponsor them.;

Here is a list of recipients of school-place, school, and corporate sponsor scholarships awarded to the National Merit Scholarship Program in Los Angeles County in 2021.


California Academy of Mathematics and Sciences

  • Zoe D. Storassly, Raytheon Company


Gretchen Whitney H.S.

  • Ryan S. Muraliraj, Northrop Grumman Corporation


California Web School

  • Marshall Olmos, Northrop Grumman Corporation

Diamond bar

Diamond Bar HS

  • Sritin S. Bandhada, Automatic Data Processing Inc. Henry Taube Memorial


Flint Preparation School

  • Claire A. SAFT, Northrop Grumman Corporation

La crescenta

Crescent Valley H.S.

  • Prashant S. Bhaskar, Automatic Data Processing Inc. The Henry Taube Memorial

Los angeles

Brentwood School

  • Dylan S. Kane, PwC Charitable Foundation

Hamilton H.S.

  • Elizabeth A. Kushnir, National Distillers Distributors Foundation

Loyola HS

  • Nicholas James George, Pfizer Inc.

North hollywood

North hollywood hs

  • Aden c. McCarthy, Wycombs


Redondo Union H.S.

  • Madeleine Daya Blomer, Raytheon Company


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here