Press "Enter" to skip to content

Clubhouse removed personal info from Afghan customers’ accounts as a safety measure

Earlier this week, Facebook launched instruments to assist folks in Afghanistan lock down their accounts. Clubhouse, the social audio app, is doing the identical factor. The company introduced on Twitter that it was proactively making some adjustments to the privateness settings for customers in Afghanistan. Specifically, for customers who “haven’t been active,” Clubhouse is hiding their photograph and bio and making it more durable to seek out the accounts in search.

Users are free to then add again any data they really feel snug sharing, they usually may attain out to assist to make their account “more discoverable.” As noted by The Verge, Clubhouse says that each one the actions it’s taking are reversible, and that these adjustments will not have an effect on customers’ followers. The company additionally says that customers can use pseudonyms quite than actual names for safety functions.

This transfer comes about a month after Clubhouse got here out of beta and opened its service to everybody. More crucially, it comes as the Taliban has taken management of Kabul, the capital of Afghanistan; the militant group is utilizing social media to assist change perceptions. The US nonetheless considers the Taliban a terrorist group, and as such Facebook has banned all content material from the group. There hasn’t been a equally simple assertion from Clubhouse, however it’s clear the company is considering find out how to defend its customers within the area. 

All merchandise really helpful by Engadget are chosen by our editorial staff, impartial of our dad or mum company. Some of our tales embody affiliate hyperlinks. If you purchase one thing via considered one of these hyperlinks, we could earn an affiliate fee.